DFG 3D-Viewer

Alpha Version

Since July 2022, a first alpha version of the DFG 3D Viewer is publicly available. For illustration purposes, there is the possibility to view prototypical 3D models in an external repository.

The DFG 3D-Viewer is a media-typological extension of the DFG Viewer and currently accessible at SLUB Dresden. It is still based on Kitodo.Presentation, which has been extended by a 3D viewer component realized with three.js. The source code of the entire DFG viewer and all components is open source and can be found on GitHub.

The repository with prototypical 3D models is an instance of the virtual research environment WissKI under construction at Mainz University of Applied Sciences. 


Project Information

While web-based GIS functionalities for processing and visualizing 2D geometries can be realized with standardized services and formats, corresponding techniques for managing and analyzing 3D data have not yet been established. Similarly, previous web-based 3D viewers such as sketchfab.com or 3dwarehouse.sketchup.com are commercial offers and provide neither legal security nor verified long-term data availability or scientific reproducibility. In addition, there are no commonly accepted minimum standards for 3D model documentation and licensing.

The development of a digital 3D viewer infrastructure for historical 3D reconstructions is supposed to offer a permanent infrastructure. On the one hand, it will provide sustainable accessibility as well as archiving of raw data sets and meta information. On the other hand, it will enable a collaboration by generating 3D web models from common data types as well as a professional discourse on virtual models.

The project aims to develop a digital 3D viewer for digital, source-based 3D reconstructions. Further goals are:

  • Creation of an interdisciplinary application profile
  • Workflow for the delivery of a 3D model in the repository
  • 3D presentation in the DFG viewer
  • Establishment of a 3D repository
  • Rights concept
  • Dissemination

Duration: 01.04.2021 - 31.03.2023


Project participants

The focus of the Junior Professorship igital Humanities at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena is on high-caliber, international as well as interdisciplinary research and teaching on image- and object-based knowledge media and processes in the fields of Digital Humanities and Digital Cultural Heritage. The range of topics includes the study of information behavior, information systems as well as aspects of museum mediation and pictorial knowledge representation. The junior professorship also deals with the theoretical reflection and systematization of the Digital Humanities as well as teaching research in order to build digital competencies.

Prof. Dr. Sander Münster (Project Management)

His fields of work are digital 3D reconstructions, 3D digitization of cultural heritage, information systems for 3D models, science analysis and informetrics and the field of visual research processes and visual perception.

Clemens Beck (Project Coordination)

His main research interests are in the field of Digital Humanities/Digital History and Historical Network Analysis as well as in the field of Medieval History and Basic Historical Sciences.

The Institute of Architecture of the University of Applied Science Mainz focuses on the requirements of a scientific documentation of a computer-aided 3D modeling on the one hand, and on the web-based visualization of digital 3D models of destroyed or unrealized buildings on the other hand. The FAIR data principles are in the foreground of the work.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Piotr Kuroczyński (project leader).

Since 2001 he has been working on computer-aided 3D reconstruction of cultural heritage. His focus is on data modeling, interoperability and visualization of scientific (digital) findings.

The Sächsische Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden (SLUB) is one of the largest academic libraries in Germany. As a classical state library, it comprehensively collects and archives publications about Saxony as well as publications subject to delivery in Saxony. As the library of the Technische Universität Dresden, it is responsible for the information supply of a research-intensive comprehensive university with a particularly broad spectrum of subjects. As a state library, the SLUB fulfills important coordination and service functions for the libraries in the Free State of Saxony and beyond.

Sebastian Meyer (Project Coordination)

Project coordinator for externally funded projects in the IT department and staff unit for IT strategy. Since 2009, developer of the DFG-Viewers and the underlying framework Kitodo.Presentation  as a reference implementation of METS-based application profiles of the Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft.

Funding

DFG 3D-Viewer

Während webbasierte GIS-Funktionalitäten zur Verarbeitung und Visualisierung von 2D-Geometrien mit standardisierten Diensten und Formaten realisiert werden können, haben sich entsprechende Techniken zur Verwaltung und Analyse von 3D-Daten bislang noch nicht etabliert. Ähnlich sind bisherige webbasierte 3D-Viewer wie sketchfab.com oder 3dwarehouse.sketchup.com kommerzielle Angebote und bieten weder Rechtssicherheit noch eine verifizierte Langzeitverfügbarkeit der Daten oder eine wissenschaftliche Nachvollziehbarkeit. Es fehlen weithin anerkannte Minimalstandards zur Dokumentation von 3D-Modellen und Lizensierung.

Die Entwicklung einer digitalen 3D-Viewerinfrastruktur für geschichtswissenschaftliche 3D-Rekonstruktionen soll zum ersten Mal als dauerhaftes Infrastrukturangebot einerseits eine nachhaltige Zugänglichkeit sowie Archivierung von Rohdatensätzen und Metainformationen ermöglichen, andererseits durch die Erzeugung von 3D-Webmodellen aus gängigen Datentypen eine Kollaboration sowie einen Fachdiskurs am virtuellen Modell ermöglichen.

Übergeordnete Ziel des Vorhabens ist die Entwicklung eines digitalen 3D-Viewers für digitale, quellen-basierte 3D-Rekonstruktionen. Teilziele sind:

  • Schaffung eines interdisziplinären Anwendungsprofils
  • Workflow zur Ablieferung eines 3D-Modells im Repository
  • 3D-Präsentation im DFG-Viewer
  • Aufbau eines 3D-Repositoriums
  • Rechtekonzept
  • Dissemination

Laufzeit: 01.04.2021 – 31.03.2023


Alpha Version

Seit Juli 2022 ist eine erste Alpha Version des DFG 3D-Viewers öffentlich zugänglich. Zur Veranschaulichung gibt es die Möglichkeit prototypische 3D-Modelle in einem externen Repositorium anzusehen.

Der DFG 3D-Viewer ist eine medientypologische Erweiterung des DFG-Viewers und aktuell an der SLUB Dresden zugänglich unter diesem Link. Er basiert weiterhin auf Kitodo.Presentation, das um eine mit three.js realisierte 3D-Viewer-Komponente ergänzt wurde. Der Quellcode des gesamten DFG-Viewers und aller Komponenten ist Open Source und auf GitHub zu finden.

Das Repositorium mit prototypischen 3D-Modellen findet sich hier. Es handelt sich um eine an der Hochschule Mainz im Aufbau befindliche Instanz der virtuellen Forschungsumgebung WissKI.


Projektbeteiligte

Der Fokus der Juniorprofessur Digital Humanities an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena liegt auf einer hochkarätigen, internationalen sowie interdisziplinären Forschung und Lehre zu bild- und objektbasierten Wissensmedien und -prozessen in den Bereichen Digital Humanities und Digital Cultural Heritage. Das Themenspektrum beinhaltet die Untersuchung des Informationsverhaltens, Informationssysteme sowie Aspekte musealer Vermittlung und der bildlichen Wissensdarstellung. Die Juniorprofessur beschäftigt sich ebenfalls mit der theoretischen Reflexion und Systematisierung der Digital Humanities sowie der Lehrforschung, um digitale Kompetenzen aufzubauen.

Prof. Dr. Sander Münster (Projektleitung)

Seine Arbeitsfelder liegen in den Bereichen Digitale 3D-Rekonstruktionen, 3D-Digitalisierung von Kulturerbe, Informationssystemen für 3D-Modelle, Wissenschaftsanalyse und Informetrik und dem feld visueller Forschungsprozesse und visueller Wahrnehmung.

Clemens Beck (Projektkoordination)

Seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen sowohl im Umfeld der Digital Humanities/Digital History sowie der Historischen Netzwerkanalyse als ach im Bereich der Mittelalterlichen Geschichte sowie der Historischen Grundwissenschaften.

Das Architekturinstitut der Hochschule Mainz setzt sich zum einen mit den Anforderungen einer wissenschaftlichen Dokumentation einer computergestützte 3D-Modellierung, zum anderen mit der web-basierten Visualisierung digitaler 3D-Modelle zerstörter bzw. nicht realisierter Bauwerke auseinander. Dabei stehen die FAIR data principles in dem Vordergrund der Arbeit.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Piotr Kuroczyński (Projektleitung)

Beschäftigt sich seit 2001 mit der computergestützten 3D-Rekonstruktion vom kulturellen Erbe. Sein Fokus liegt dabei auf der Datenmodellierung, Interoperabilität und Visualisierung der wissenschaftlichen (digitalen) Erkenntnisse.

Die Sächsische Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden (SLUB) ist eine der größten wissenschaftlichen Bibliotheken in Deutschland. Als klassische Landesbibliothek sammelt und archiviert sie umfassend Veröffentlichungen über Sachsen sowie die in Sachsen erscheinenden ablieferungspflichtigen Publikationen. Als Bibliothek der Technischen Universität Dresden trägt sie die Informationsversorgung einer forschungsstarken Volluniversität mit besonders breitem Fächerspektrum. Als Staatsbibliothek erfüllt die SLUB wichtige Koordinierungs- und Dienstleistungsfunktionen für die Bibliotheken im Freistaat Sachsen und darüber hinaus.

Sebastian Meyer (Projektkoordination)

Projektkoordinator für Drittmittelprojekte in der IT-Abteilung und Stabsstelle für IT-Strategie. Seit 2009 Entwickler des DFG-Viewers und dem zugrundeliegenden Framework Kitodo.Presentation als Referenzimplementierung METS-basierter Anwendungsprofile der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft.

Fördergeber